AB Mountain

View from halfway up the mountain, town of Skagway in the valley on the right

 In mid-July, after several weeks of they typical Southeast Alaska rain we had a rare day of sunshine, so I took advantage of it by heading up AB mountain after work. I started at 6pm and finished the 10 mile round trip with a 5,052 foot gain in elevation at exactly midnight. Fortunately in mid-summer the sun never sets so I had plenty of light. What I didn’t have was plenty of clothing. I was surprised to find snow still at the top of the mountain, so I only spent about 30 minutes at the summit enjoying the view before I headed back down. Here are a few pictures from my trip.

Enjoying the July snow near the summit
Nearing the top at 5,000 feet

View from the summit at 10pm, still light as day

This entry was posted in Adventures, Alaska, Mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to AB Mountain

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for sharing a great adventure!

Leave a comment